Written by J. R. R. Tolkien

Number 4 in The Lord of the Rings: Seven Book Editions

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Pages: 189
Genre: Classics, Fantasy
Published: 1954-07-29
Original Language: English

For the first time, The Lord of the Rings is presented as a boxed set of seven hardcover volumes, one for each of its six parts plus a seventh volume containing maps and the appendices. Bound in black covers with the distinctive Eye of Sauron design from the original jackets embossed in red and gold foil on each volume. Each book bears Tolkien's originally conceived title - The Ring Sets Out, The Ring Goes South, The Treason at Isengard, The Ring Goes East, The War of the Ring, The End of the Third Age - and has been specially typeset for this edition. With sales of over 50 million copies wordwide and acknowledged as the book of the century by book lovers all over the world, this commemorative edition is available for a strictly limited period and provides Tolkien lovers, fans, and collectors old and new with the perfect opportunity to own a piece of twentieth century literary history.

Read from 2021-01-21 to 2021-05-24
Read in English
Rating: 3.5/5
Review: This part of the Lord of The Rings is mainly the “Sam and Frodo walk for a long time”, and therefore has a hard job to do when it comes to being especially exciting. It is, figuratively and literally, a walk from one stage of the story to the next, and only speeds up to a light jog by the very end.

Still, the meeting with Faramir, especially how the characters relate to each other, is interesting, and the overheard conversation with the orcs at the end of the book is fun – if only to hear the way in which they speak to each other.

Still, while this part of the story isn’t my favourite in any medium, I feel that it could have been told with a little more of the charm and magic that has been more present in the previous parts of the story.